More than a Year

17 Dec

More than a year has passed since I updated this blog.  A lot has happened during the last year, though not much blogging it seems.  Some quick highlights for 2008:

  • Dapper moved headquarters to San Francisco from Tel Aviv.  We got an office.  I stopped working from home.  Things started happening on the business front.  We built a business model.  My cofounder moved to Sunnyvale.  I got real busy.  We added a some great people to our team.  We recently moved into our second office of 2008 by the Caltrain.
  • More things ended up on the walls of my apartment.  Until just yesterday there were two huge walls that still had nothing on them.  Ofri finally put up some of Liesbeth’s beautiful paintings in the bedroom, and I put up some of my photos from Thanksgiving in the living room.  We’ve still got work to do.  Today we finished constructing my holiday gift: a spice rack that Ofri designed and created with her school’s laser cuter – that made it onto the kitchen wall.
  • I made great strides in my cooking.  Taking a cue from my good friend Roos, I started cooking my favorite Indian dishes from scratch.  I bought a food processor.  I bought good pans.  I accessorized the kitchen.  I realized I can make any dish I want if I just try.  I realized I could even cook for other people.  I’ve been making lasagna, Chinese orange chicken, butter chicken, aloo gobi, garlic chicken, larb gai, and much, much more.  We started eating green salad every day.  I started liking tomatoes more than I once did.  I started baking, making chocolate chip cookies, pumpkin bread, and coconut cookies.
  • I slowed down my travel to and from Israel.  From August 2007 until May 2008, I traveled to Israel every 3-5 weeks.  Since May, I’ve only been to Israel once.  While it has been necessary to slow down my travel both because Dapper is more active in the States and because it was wrecking havoc on my life, I do miss my frequent trips to Tel Aviv.  For a while, I was maintaining some semblance of two lives simultaneously (though at some point I realized that two half-lives does not equal a full life).  I miss my friends and family there and the vibrancy of life in that crazy country.
  • I organized and held a fun event for Dapper called DapperCamp at the Swedish American Hall in San Francisco.  Lots of people came and it was a success.  Building on my experience of running the event, I’m helping bring the Internet Marketing Conference to San Francisco in May, 2009.
  • Ofri and I did a whole lot of hiking and camping: Henry Coe, Lake Pillsbury, frequent trips to Mount Tam and Point Reyes, and more in the Bay Area.
  • I traveled to a bunch of places I didn’t know well or had never been before, and Ofri joined me on some of the trips.  Particularly enjoyable trips were Seattle, Vancouver, Amsterdam, and Barcelona. I especially enjoyed my second trip to India.  I visited Bangalore and Mysore and am eagerly awaiting my return this spring.  Part of me really connects well with India and the Indian people.  I’ve got the head wobble down.  And I love the food so much.
  • All the travel added up, I earned tons of frequent flier miles, and I requalified for my elite status on Continental for another year.  If you want to dork out to my flight paths, check out my flight memory.

The year will end in Peru (courtesy of those frequent flier miles)  Ofri and I leave soon for our first foray into South America.

Hopefully 2009 will bring with it as much progress, both in life and in work, as 2008 did.  If nothing else, I finally feel back in my place in the US, and some sense of stability has returned to what was, for a long time, a very hectic life.

Best wishes to everyone reading this – happy holidays, happy new year, and happy 2009!

2 Responses to “More than a Year”

  1. Daniel Berstein December 19, 2008 at 3:09 pm #

    I just wanted to clarify a statement you made: “… there and the vibrancy of life in that crazy country.”. I for one think its not the country that’s crazy, its the PEOPLE.

    Happy holidays for you and Ofri too, enjoy Peru. It would have been so awesome if you and Ofri could meet with Pauli in Peru or Chile. Pauli would also like to check out Machupichu, not sure her schedule/budget will allow her.

  2. Daniel Berstein December 19, 2008 at 7:14 pm #

    Jon, your MTA keeps bouncing my emails so here is my reply:

    Realistically I don’t think there’s much chance for her to go over there, but she’ve mentioned several times how much she would like to go to Machupichu. Send me your schedule and I’ll talk with her to see if/when/how something can be arranged.

    Love from kosher-landia.

Leave a Reply

