Jacob’s Ladder

14 May

Opportunities for seeing good live American music in Israel are few and far between. The Jacob's Ladder Folk Festival commemorated it's 30th anniversay this past weekend just north of Tiberias on the Sea of Galillee. The crowd was mostly Anglo-Saxon families, yet my friends (a British immigrant, four Israelis, and an 11-month-old baby) and I fit in just fine. The camping, weather, and vibes were all good. The music left a lot to be desired, though I guess if I were a middle-aged American expat living in Israel for the last twenty years, I would have been more satisfied. It was good to get outside and hear some bluegrass as well as escape the Israeli reality into a bizarre Anglo-Saxon world. I didn't know something like this existed in Israel and I was happy to find it. If it weren't for the random kibbutznik yelling at us about random people peeing in his yard, it'd be hard to know I was still in Israel.

Now all we need is an Israeli equivalent of Sasquatch or PMF and we'll be all set.

One Response to “Jacob’s Ladder”

  1. Zach May 17, 2006 at 7:47 pm #

    Argh. A classmate and veteran oleh from Toronto told me to go to Jacob’s Ladder, but I opted to stay home and work on stuff.

    I’m calling myself “the #1 country singer in Tel Aviv” but it would seem I may not have that title by default.\

    Next year, in…

Leave a Reply

